World Prizes in Philosophy Series: The Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Foundation, The Norwegian Nobel Institute, The Norwegian Parliament (“The Storting”)


In this second feature of the #Prizes in Philosophy Series, we look at the eminent Nobel Peace Prize — a USD 1 000 000 (EUR 1 500 000) prize established by the terms of the will of engineer Dr. Alfred Bernhard Nobel. The will was drawn on November 27th, 1895 and has been managed since his passing on December 10th 1896 by the Nobel Foundation created in 1900. The Nobel Peace Prize is granted to suitable candidate(s) that have “done the most to promote peace”. It is also granted without considerations of nationality. Nominations for the prize are kept in utmost secrecy and confidence for 50 years. 

Click here for the remainder of my summary. 

Click here for the link to the official webpage.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: